Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Review: My Beating Teenage Heart


My Beating Teenage Heart by C.K. Kelly Martin
Published: September 27, 2011
Teen Book Scene Tour [Review]

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she's plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn't remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she's trapped in a consciousness without a body and she's spending every moment watching a stranger.
Breckon Cody's on the edge. He's being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breath. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he's barely hanging on.

Even though she didn't know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon's pain, and she's determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can't see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. In alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heart paints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy—and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and David Levithan.

From Goodreads

My Beating Teenage Heart by C.K. Kelly Martin is a book that dares to explore the heart. From the title, I knew I was going to be reading a book that dealt with real issues, real life, and real-good-writing. Martin beautifully captures emotions and expresses them in ways that readers can respond to.

Without giving away one single detail, I have to keep this review short. I would hate to give away anything spoiler-ish and ruin the reading experience for anyone. What I can say is: prepare to be taken on an emotional journey. One that dares to touch on issues most books would rather not. Where some books are bringing laughs and good times, My Beating Teenage Heart brings heart matters to the forefront and expresses them in a way that younger readers can relate to.

The first few words on the very first page had my heart beating to a new rhythm. I was moved and I was captivated. Martin’s storytelling is easy to read, easy to understand, and easy to love.

Photobucket

4 comments:

  1. AHHHH! I love C.K. Kelly Martin! and since you loved this one I can't wait to read it! 

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lovely review. I really haven't heard much about this one. Sounds different...

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read this one recently also and loved it. It was definitely a powerful novel and sigh. I want to get a finished copy of this one for sure!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to leave this post a comment! Ask any questions or share your love of books. I'd be happy to reply back to any/all questions!

AddThis